gtag('config', 'G-6R4ZN3JKKT');
Queen's Park Cricket Club

Queen's Park Cricket Club

About Us

The Queen’s Park Oval is a sports stadium in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, used mostly for cricket matches. It opened in 1896. Privately owned by the Queen’s Park Cricket Club, it is currently the largest capacity cricket ground in the West Indies with seating for about 20,000.

It has hosted more Test matches than any other ground in the Caribbean with 60 as of January 2018, and also hosted a number of One-Day International (ODI) matches, including many World Series Cricket games in 1979 and matches of the 2007 Cricket World Cup. The Trinidad and Tobago cricket team play most of their home matches at the ground, and it is the home ground of the Caribbean Premier League team Trinbago Knight Riders.

Considered by many players, journalists and critics as one of the most picturesque cricket venues, the ground first hosted a Test match in February 1930 when England toured the Caribbean, though it had previously hosted many first class tours as early as the 1897 tour under Lord Hawke. The pavilion dates back to 1896, though there were extensive renovations in the 1950s and in 2007 prior to the World Cup and following an earthquake. The “Concrete Stand” was renamed the “Learie Constantine Stand” in recognition of that former West Indies cricketer. The first ODI match at the ground was played in March 1983, and the first Twenty20 International in 2009.

As well as the main cricket stadium, the facility includes a members gym, indoor and outdoor cricket practice nets, two squash courts, a table tennis room and an outdoor tennis court. The cricket field has also been used to host several domestic and international football matches, and several music events.